top of page
  • Sneha Gupta

LIVING THROUGH THE SCREEN

(A blog on resonating life with fictional characters) Being a theatre person, I always find myself connecting with the characters of every movie I watch and now I feel that my personality is an amalgamation of all of them. Do I relate to all of them because I'm constantly changing or because those characters are changing me? Or maybe I just want to carry a part of them and keep it alive. I could fill hundreds of those ivory sheets if I talked about each character I related to but today I'll stick to only a few that I feel the most close to. There's something about the characters like Ved from Tamasha, Kiara from Dear Zindagi and Farhan from 3 Idiots that makes us feel close to them.

I found something similar between Ved and Kiara; how they are wild, stubborn, hurting, confused and walking time bombs yet watching them always makes me feel at ease. Ved as a child always took interest in fantasies and stories but as he grew older he started losing himself. He suffered through major identity crisis; he is a reflection of every person who is trying to reach out for their dreams, but instead of being pushed forward, things keep pulling them back. "The movie looks like a mirror, every time you see Ved in confusion there's a mirror".

Apart from the traits I mentioned above, Kiara is also passionate towards her work, bluntly honest and bold. I know I know it's not possible but I always felt that Kiara's life story is a copy of mine. It feels like she carries a flame in her heart, a pit of grief because she's unable to forgive her parents for not being how she hoped for them to be.

One of the three main protagonists in the movie "3 Idiots", Farhan, had a passion for wildlife photography, but just like many other students in India, he chose to do engineering or was pressured into choosing because of his parents. He didn't think he could make a living out of his passion and that's what my 14 year old self felt too. In the end of the movie we saw how Farhan was successful in writing a book on wildlife which showcased his photography skills too. Hoping to get a happy ending as all these characters. Let us know which character you feel the most close to and why in the comments.


165 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page